Quarterstaff: The Infamous Puzzle   6 comments

In a curious way, even though I just started, I’ve been playing Quarterstaff for four years.

It’s long been one of the two Infocom games I’ve never tried (Shogun is the other one) and at one point when I was organizing my files I wanted to make a directory so I could play Quarterstaff when the time was right. I set up a Macintosh emulator (a bit of a ritual in itself) and gathered the documentation files I knew I would need. According to my file dates, this happened in 2014.

I had heard that in particular there was a puzzle reliant on the documentation that was quite nasty to solve.

The most significant “real” puzzle is that of deciphering a set of magic words using a parchment and wooden coin included in the game package. (Apparently quite a few players were stumped by this — Infocom actually gave away the entire solution in the very last issue of “The Status Line,” which is included in manual download below).
Home of the Underdogs

The documentation included the “parchment” on the top of this post, as well as a wooden coin.

Knowing about the puzzle’s reputation, intermittently I would take a glance at the image files in my directory, idly trying to solve the puzzle. Was there an acrostic or something of that sort in the poem? What did the difference between the coin and the parchment pictures mean? Do the animals to the side have a meaning?

Fast-forwarding to now:

This is the way to the second level, but this is also the location of the identify wand, which seems to be critical to the game, because examining it says “The glowing identify wand is in the gouged hole. A wand that looks to be used for copy protection. You had better read the documentation to figure out how to use it.”

The manual states the format for wand use is [MAGIC WORD] [TARGET OF MAGIC]. The mystery seemed to be what magic words could be used, and thus the puzzle boiled down to finding “magic verbs” the game would recognize. The four mini-poems at the bottom seemed to be applicable.

To glean the secret of a Wand,
Spy the rising sun, and pace
Southward six.

Here I was stumped, likely as stumped as the poor Status Line readers, until I had a lateral insight. Let’s clip an image from the game as a bit of spoiler space …

.
.
.
.
(don’t go on unless you want the puzzle completely spoiled)
.
.
.
.

… before mentioning I remembered that the coin was a physical object, and while it was not certain from the pictures, it appeared to fit inside the compass circle on top of the parchment itself.

Additionally, I noticed there was an arrow on the coin; I originally assumed it pointed to north, but then realized because of it being physical the coin itself could be rotated to match whatever the poem wanted. That is, if we “spy the rising sun” (start pointing east) the arrow on the coin can can be rotated to face east. Then from the eastmost point we can read off six letters rotating clockwise (“pacing southward”).

This gets ODEEPS which is indeed recognized by the game!

>Odeeps identify wand.
The identify wand glows faintly and suddenly Titus clearly understands exactly what it can be used for: Using this wand will allow the wielder to identify scrolls, wands, potions, and keys. They key words necessary for using the wand can be deciphered from the scroll and coin included in the game packaging.

I know I promised I would get to combat this time, but I’m going to wait a little longer while I explore Level 2; the game makes some very extended claims about artificial intelligence and I’m trying to verify if any of the claims hold out.

Posted April 20, 2018 by Jason Dyer in Interactive Fiction

Tagged with

6 responses to “Quarterstaff: The Infamous Puzzle

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What Mac emulator are you using? Thanks for a great series. Always wanted to get around to Quarterstaff back in the day.

    • I was using Basilisk (which I normally find reliable) but I’ve been having crashes with Quarterstaff so I switched to vMac.

      This now means I’m running in black and white, but that seems to be a good thing, because the pictures are rarer and less arbitrary in sizing.

      • Thanks for the info. I’ve got it launching in BasiliskII but haven’t played far enough to reach the crashes. But it also runs fine in classic mode on an old G4 Powerbook running OS X 10.2. I thought there was a reason that I held onto that machine. Looking forward to any further posts!

      • I’ve made progress, I just need to summon up the time to write a post.

  2. Pingback: Lazy Reading for 2018/04/29 – DragonFly BSD Digest

  3. Pingback: Lazy Reading for 2018/04/29 – FreshBSD.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.